Watarirouka Hashiritai (渡り廊下走り隊) to call it quits, final release on Christmas Day


Watarirouka Hashiritai (渡り廊下走り隊), the AKB48 sub-unit which began back in Oct. 2008 are calling it quits and will release on more Watarirouka Hashiraitai “Best Album” on Christmas Day.

Taken from J!-ENT:

Back in 2008, AKB48 founder/producer Yasushi Akimoto wanted to revive the subgroup “Ushirogami Hikaretai” (a popular subgroup of Onyanko Club featuring Akiko Ikuina, Makiko Saito and Shizuka Kudo) but this time for AKB48 under the name “Watariroka Hashiritai” which would consist of five members Mayu Watanabe, Natsumi Hirajima, Haruka Nakagawa, Aika Oota and Ayaka Kikuchi.

With a total of six CD singles released, Akimoto has added two more members to the group, Misaki Iwasa and Misa Komori.  And together, will now be known as “Watariroka Hashiritai 7″.

Which is no surprise to fans as Nacchan quit AKB48, Harugon has went on to JKT48, Mayuyu is doing well in AKB48 and as a solo artist, Rabutan is in HKT48, Wasamin has a solo enka career in addition to AKB48 and Sumire Sato is still with AKB48.

I don’t think that AKB48 fans are too surprised but I’m sure that there is a bit of sadness that the group are breaking up.  But everyone has went on their own separate path individually and the group will go out with a bang with a Best Album featuring 5 discs (3 CD’s with a total of 46 songs and 2 DVD’s with music videos and live concert footage).

I will forever relish the moments of blasting Watarirouka Hashiritai’s “AkKanbe Bashi” (アッカンベー橋) on my car stereo, while onlookers wondered…WTF is he playing!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *