Archives for : August2014

J!-ENT VIDEO COVERAGE: Power Morphicon 4 (2014)


On August 23-24th, J!-ENT staff traveled to Pasadena for the fourth “Power Morphicon” event which takes place every two years.

An niche event that has slowly grown since 2007, Power Morphicon 4 was a major success with over 7,000 people in attendance.

While there were multiple panels keeping attendees entertained, here are videos from our coverage at Power Morphicon 2014.  Our article and feature will be showcased in our upcoming annual issue in late October.

Former SMAP member Mori Katsuyuki appears on television


Former SMAP member Mori Katsuyuki (40) returned to television for “Takeshi no Todorokibesu” on Fuji TV.

Mori left SMAP back in 1996 to pursue his career as a Moto GP racer and has done well in the sport since.

Mori rarely makes appearances on television.

Nogizaka46’s Hashimoto Nana hospitalized


Nogizaka46 member Hashimoto Nana (21) was recently hospitalized for an acute anaphylactic allergic reaction.

While the singer performed in Osaka, Senda and Fukuoka, she did not performer Tuesday night in Nagoya.

Hashimoto blogged that it is not known of what caused the allergic reaction and that she is no longer in the hospital.

She intends to perform for their upcoming performance on the 30th.

Eir Aoi releases SAO2 OP single “IGNITE”!

Eir Aoi releases highly anticipated single “IGNITE” opening theme song for the TV anime series, Sword Art Online II


After releasing her 2nd album “AUBE” earlier this year, Eir releases her highly anticipated single, “IGNITE”, which is currently featured as the opening theme song for the popular TV anime series, Sword Art Online II.

With a speedy melody mixed in with Eir’s powerful voice, this newest single a must have for Eir fans and Sword Art Online II fans alike!

Check it out in the iTunes store! à

Set list
2. Brainwash
3. Utakata
4. IGNITE (Instrumental)

[Eir Aoi profile]

Singing has been Eir Aoi’s passion all her life; she fronted a band she formed in high school. Although she once gave up pursuing music as a career after high school, she resumed singing as a hobby and drew attention with her singing skills, as well as the beauty, the forcefulness and the stretch of her voice – which all led to her “print debut” on Lis Ani! Vol. 5 (Sony Magazines) in April 2011. Later that year, she made her real debut on October 19 with “Memoria”, the ending theme of TV anime Fate/Zero, which debuted at #8 on the Oricon single chart and sold close to 60,000 copies.

April 2012 saw the release of album Prayer, a tribute to Fate/Zero, in which she proved her much-talked-about singing skills. The album debuted at #12 on the Oricon chart. In September, she released second single “Aurora” (opening theme of TV anime Mobile Suit Gundam AGE: Third Generation series) .
She went on to release third single “Innocence” (opening theme of TV anime Sword Art Online: Fairy Dance series) in November, which debuted at #6 on the Oricon single chart.

Eir opened the year 2013 with the release of her much-anticipated first full-length album BLAU on January 30, which debuted at #4 on the Oricon album chart and was distributed online in 20 countries. She released single “Cobalt Sky” (opening theme of the month on TBS Network’s CDTV in July) on June 26, and released “Sirius” (opening theme of TV anime Kill La Kill) on November 13.
This year on Jan 29, “AUBE” was released which included “Sanbika” from the TV animation series “Kill la Kill”.
Eir is also expanding her sphere of activities outside Japan; this summer she performed at a special “Kill la Kill” event at Anime Expo in Los Angeles, the largest anime convention in North America and Anime Festival Asia Indonesia which attracted over 40,000 attendees!

Her official Facebook page is “Liked” by over 300,000 people around the world, which shows the high degree of attention she attracts – she is absolutely the hottest female vocalist right now in Japan, and perhaps she will come to your country soon!

Official Site:
Official Blog “Eir-Ruru”:
Official Twitter: @eir_ruru /
Official mixi page:
Official Facebook Page:
Official Google+ Page:

LiSA releases 6th single, “BRiGHT FLiGHT / L. Miranic” Double A-side single that showcases her “pop” and “rock” sides!


In May of this year, LiSA released her 5th single “Rising Hope” for her fans worldwide and it went on to capture #4 on the Oricon Music Charts in Japan.
LiSA is back at it again with her 6th single, “BRiGHT FLiGHT/ L. Miranic”, which is a special release that overseas fans can enjoy before the CD release in Japan!

This double A-side single showcases LiSA’s talents as a multifaceted artist;
the first song “BRiGHT FLiGHT” is a pop track that exhibits her cute side with an image of the color “pink”, while “L. Miranic” reveals her heavy rock side with an image color of “black”.

Furthermore, the coupling track titled “Tokyo Love Song” is LiSA’s first ever song in which she wrote the lyrics and composed the music.
This latest single packs 3 unique tracks that will surely pull fans into LiSA’s World!


“BRiGHT FLiGHT / L. Miranic” is available today!
Check out the single here!à

Set list
2. L. Miranic
2. Tokyo Love Song

[LiSA profile]
LiSA first came to prominence through the hit anime TV series, “Angel Beats!” in 2010 where her vocal abilities shone through her role as the 2nd generation vocalist for the band within the series, “Girls Dead Monster.” Subsequent releases under the band’s name ranked high on the Oricon charts, steadily growing in popularity and fame.
The following year, LiSA made her debut as a solo artist with a mini-album in 2011 and enjoyed further success in chart performance. Her next releases included major tie-ups with anime series, including the iconic “oath sign” for the series “Fate/Zero” and “crossing field” for the hugely popular “Sword Art Online” series, strengthening her popularity in both the anime and pop rock world.
LiSA’s fanbase continues to grow exponentially in and outside of Japan, thanks to her infectious, energetic live performances, friendly, down-to-earth disposition, and cute sense of fashion. All eyes are on this definite artist to watch!

More BABYMETAL live in NY and London this fall!


With the popularity that BABYMETAL is receiving these days, it’s no surprised that we will see more of the group this year.

It was announced that BABYMETAL will  have a London and New York show as part of “BABYMETAL BACK IN THE USA/UK TOUR 2014” in November.  The dates and venue have not yet been announced.

On October 29th, the Blu-ray and DVD release of “LIVE ~ LEGEND 1999 & 1997 APOCALYPSE” will be  released.

Tracklistings for the concerts are as follows:

2013/6/30 at NHKホール

02. いいね!
03. 君とアニメが見たい ~Answer for Animation With You
04. ウ・キ・ウ・キ★ミッドナイト
05. ちょこっとLOVE -BIG TIME CHANGES ver.-
07. おねだり大作戦 
09. Catch me if you can 
10. ド・キ・ド・キ☆モーニング
11. メギツネ 
12. イジメ、ダメ、ゼッタイ 
13. 紅月-アカツキ-
14. ヘドバンギャー!!

2013/12/21 at 幕張メッセイベントホール

01. ヘドバンギャー!! -Night of 15 mix-
02. ド・キ・ド・キ☆モーニング
03. いいね!
04. 魂のルフラン
05. ウ・キ・ウ・キ★ミッドナイト
06. ギミチョコ!!
07. 君とアニメが見たい ~Answer for Animation With You
08. メギツネ
09. イジメ、ダメ、ゼッタイ
10. おねだり大作戦
11. Catch me if you can
12. ヘドバンギャー!!
13. 紅月-アカツキ-(Unfinished ver.)

Nogizaka46’s Akimoto, Ikuta and Hashimoto to star in “Chono Ryoku 3”


Nogizaka46’s Akimoto Manatsu, Ikuta Erika and Hashimoto Nanami will be starring in the third “Chono Ryoku” film which will be released in Japan on December 6th.

Oshima Yuko and DiVA members celebrate Miyazawa Sae’s birthday



SKE48/SNH48 member Miyazawa Sae celebrated her birthday along with her former AKB48 second gen members (and DIVA members) Oshima Yuko (dressed as an alien), Masuda Yuka, Umeda Ayaka and Akimoto Sayaka (dressed up as Vegeta).